2016 Jurist of the Year Awards (JOYA)

The Kenyan Section of the International Commission of Jurists (ICJ Kenya) annually holds the Jurists of the Year Award Ceremony.

The Jurist of the Year Award is an annual award that seeks to give recognition, acknowledgment and encouragement to jurists who have consistently, fearlessly and impartially promoted the rule of law and human rights in Kenya during the year. The award has been given out on the 10th December each year since 1993 to commemorate and honor the United Nations International Human Rights Day.

This year, the Award Ceremony will be held on Friday 9th December 2016.  

Last year, Hon. Paul Muite received the award while Lawrence Mute won the award in 2014. Other past recipients include Hon. Justice Mumbi Ngugi, Hon. Justice Njoki Ndung’u and Hon. Justice Daniel Musinga. Others include renowned Senior Counsel Pheroze Nowrojee, Human Rights Advocate Mbugua Mureithi, Gibson Kamau Kuria, Senior Counsel Nzamba Kitonga, and human rights activist Maina Kiai. 

The JOYA Award is  an important fixture in Kenya and globally on the Human Rights Calendar of events and provides an opportunity to reflect on the gains made in promoting human rights in the course of the year and to chart the way forward for the future.  

The recipients of the award are selected using strict a strict criteria set out in the ICJ Kenya’s rules that ensure fairness, objectivity and transparency.